NSW 5 Stand State Selection Shoot - 1st Shoot

SSAA Griffith Branch held a successful 1st round of the NSW 5-Stand State Selection Shoots on October 26th & 27th.  Two very different ranges were set, amongst the pine trees presenting a good variety of KNOWN targets to challenge all shooting grades.  Warm weather and little breeze attracted 40 competitors from Bathurst, Canberra, Hay, Wodonga, Temora, and surrounding Griffith area.

The 100 target event commenced on Saturday afternoon with two rounds of 5-Stand, with the remaining 50 targets shot on Sunday morning. SSAA Griffith Branch decided to shoot known targets to encourage new competitors to the sport which proved successful; this also allowed the range setters to provide equalling challenging targets for all grades.

Shoot administration was run smoothly with Brian Weeding at the helm. The shoot was generously sponsored by Casella Wines, and the Griffith Branch with merchandise for all lucky place getters.

Local Griffith member Greg Allen demonstrated some excellent shooting over the weekend with a score of 88/100 winning him the High Gun Prize. Other winners were:

AA Grade: Brett Inch (Temora) 84, Grant Barton (Bathurst) 83, Darren Macartney (Hay) 83

A Grade: Peter Jacka (Hay) 79, Mitchell McDonell (West Wyalong) 75, Anthony Mancini (Griffith) 73

B Grade:  Romain Devaud (Hay) 64, Jacob Foster (Griffith) 61, Claude Beltrame (Griffith) 28

C Grade: Karl Russell (Griffith) 68, Aaron Fitzpatrick (Griffith) 67, Michael Rombolo (Griffith) 47

Sub Juniors:  Sebastian Zanotto (Griffith) 57, Sam Barton (Bathurst) 34

Veterans: Sid Gugliemino (Griffith) 80, Alec Ceccato (Griffith) 77, Jeff Pagett (Griffith) 73

Ladies:  Jan Jacka (Hay) 68, Casey Jacka (Hay) 67

It was decided at the State and National AGM to adopt the new percentage scoring system so that all competitors receive a percentage score of the High Gun total regardless of number of targets shot. To be eligible for 2014 NSW Team Selection you must attend 3 Selection Shoots and the NSW State Titles.

                                                                                                                 By Assistant NSW Shotgun Discipline Chairman Jan Jacka